Twilight, op. 3

Twilight is the first piece composed by Romain Corbisier during his composition studies at the Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles. The project of composition is born from a collaboration with the Arcangelo orchestra, conducted by Anne-Christine Leuridan. Thanks to her, Twilight has been performed many times in France and Germany, each time under the baton of its composer.

It is a score that finds its inspiration from the Van Gogh's painting "Starry Night". The composer was so much fascinated that he imagined a life in it, and he put it in music. The structure of Twilight is open: the imagined events are coming one after the other (last ray of sunlight, darkness arrival, awakening of the "creatures of the night"...)

    Version française cliquez ici.


    • Title: Twilight, op. 3 (original title: Crépuscule, op. 3) 
    • Year of composition: 2010 
    • Duration: 16 minutes 
    • Instrumentation: String Orchestra (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello, Double Bass) 
    • Creation: 8th April, 2011 (Saint Paul Church, Marcq-en-Baroeul, France - by Arcangelo orchestra, conducting: Romain Corbisier)
    • Commission: by Arcangelo orchestra


    The score of Twilight, op. 3 is not available. A new edition will be released in 2023.